What is the difference between yams and sweet potatoes?

 

yam-vs-sweet-potato-main

Image Source 

 

It was fun to learn that a sweet potato is what you’d commonly find at your local grocery market. And chances are you will find it in the colors orange, purple and white.  However, yams usually have to be found at a specialty store and are white.  I discovered the answer to said question some years ago when I decided to bake my very first sweet potato pie.  It’s funny, until my first sweet potato pie experience, I never questioned the difference.  I stumbled across this cool video that breaks down the difference in fun and succinct way…check it out here.

Now I’m on the hunt to try my first, real yam.

Happy Holidays!

 

Leave a Reply

