Italy: Bitter Sweet

Italy, Rimini

Hello everyone,

 

As you can see, based on my photo, I am in Italy!

I’m gonna get right to it.

It’s bitter-sweet because although I love Italy, this is my 4th trip, my work camera, 2 lenses and lapstop was stolen in Milan yesterday. Not only were my things taken my husband had very sentimental and expensive things stolen from him too. Not even my baby’s diaper bag was spared.

We reported the theft but was pretty much laughed at by the “police”.  I guess having thousands of dollars worth of things stolen from visitors in Milan is not a serious matter and is cause for a chuckle.

What made me feel even worse was after talking to a restaurant employee and a woman at the church (where we were going to see the Last Supper painting), near where we got robbed, we learned that theft/pick pockets/purse snatching in Milan is extremely common.  The woman at the restaurant told me that she warns her female patrons to not set their purses down at their table! I wish I had known about the common thefts in Milan because I would have skipped visiting enitirely.  I plan to write a review on Trip Advisor warning people so hopefully I can keep someone else from having to experience the pain, shock and sadness of being robbed. And from needing help from the uncaring, insensitive “police” in Milan.

I am trying to not let this ruin the rest of my trip since we still have so much time left, but it is incredibly hard.

 

-Gotta keep smiling and get creative with my iphone.

4 thoughts on “Italy: Bitter Sweet

  1. So sorry to hear this 😦 and to make it worse the insensitive treatment from the police…ugh. I’ve also been robbed too (although not on vacation), but it was such a horrible, violating experience. I know it’s hard, but I hope you’ll be able to enjoy the rest of your vacation. Remember, what comes around goes around 🙂

    • Thank you so much for the encouragement, I appreciate it. You’re right, it is so violating. Now I’m a worried about the smallest things and keep double and triple checking to make sure I have things locked or close to me. Feeling better though.

Leave a Reply

