Argentina Pt. 3 – Buenos Aires

So I take it you guys are really interested in Argentina, eh?  I have gotten some of my most views ever with these posts…so I’m gonna keep on keepin’ on!  Thanks for the love! Argentina, Bueno Aires, Tour, City

Other than walking, the subway has been our only mode of transportation.  I just learned today that Argentina’s first subway line was built in 1913 (thanks Honey). We have taken one taxi ride and it was scary, exciting, and hilarious. And I thought New York taxi drivers were crazy drivers?! Whew, there were times when I had to grab the whoa-bar or give my husband a look that said, “should we have him just drop us at the first corner?”. Thanks goodness we made it and I am here to laugh about it ;-D
2

This small station reminded me of NY’s Grand Central station.3

Took a break in the park and watched the dogs play in the dog park nearby.  The weather has been beautiful (too hot for my husband though) and I’ve noticed that if I stand in shaded area it’s always breezy and somewhat cool.  It also cools down nicely at night too, on a few occasions I found myself needing to grab a light sweater to knock off the chill.   5

I’ve been wearing my cross body bag a lot more than I thought I would.  Since we’ve been walking a lot I find that it’s much more comfortable to carry and I can easily keep an eye on it.  Though, I must say, I feel much safer than I thought I would. Before getting here I was told to “watch out” and “be careful”, but I have not noticed any shadiness.  The saddest thing I have often noticed though is small children (I saw a small group of 4, oldest 12yrs and the youngest had to be no more than 2.5 years old) riding the train for hours trying to get money for food, some of them were barefoot and dirty, and hair their hair was matted :’-/   Or seeing children begging or their parents “pushing” them to beg.  Breaks my heart.6

On a lighter note.  The shot above is of a pretty restaurant near Palacio Paz…more on Palcio coming right up…
7

We ended up leaving our hotel a little too late to make it in time for our group bike tour, so we rented bikes and struck out on our own.  Turns out missing the tour was a thing a good thing.  We realized we could stop as often or as little as we wanted and we could go wherever we wanted.  We rented with the nice folks at Bicicleta Naranja.  They were attentive, helpful, and they had maps and helmets available for free.8

Here I am pretend pouting ’cause I really did not want to wear that special hat, so uncool, but my husband made me.  Haha.  I took it off once we cleared the city area and were in the beautiful park near Puerto Madero and Ecologica Reserva …

9

10

Largest river in the world???  “Some geographers consider the Río de la Plata a gulf or marginal sea of the Atlantic Ocean, while others consider it a river. For those who regard it to be a river it is the widest in the world, with a maximum width of about 220 kilometres (140 mi) and a total surface area of about 35,000 square kilometres (14,000 sq mi).” Source.


11

Spotted some wildlife too.  You’d have to look closely or you might miss it. They have cute signs in the park that says, “respetar los animales”.  This big guy was peaking its head out, but when one of the food vendors brought over raw steak the lizard ran over to get it!  He was not shy about getting food and gobbled it down so fast I thought he’d choke.  However, when he finished he ran away as quickly as he had run out.

12

Snack break.  I was happy to spot this small stand is in the park, it had a “vegetarian” section on the menu too. There are a large number of food vendors lining the street outside the park, but they mostly sell things of the meat variety, so there was nothing for my husband and I.

13

Palcio Paz.  We took a tour of this beautiful palace at the end of our bike ride.

14

The photo on the left is a shot of one of the grand entrances at Palcio.  Our guide told us that this was one of the entrances the family used to “wow” their guest with before meeting up with them.  I can see how, it really was jaw dropping.  The photo really doesn’t do its beauty much justice.

15

This one of the family’s 3 dining rooms, sadly, the people running the “museum” didn’t have much furniture available for us to see.

16

One of the many beautiful things I noticed was the variety of gorgeous, handmade floors.  The mansion also had “secret” entrances (cause the service staff were not allowed to used the same doors as the family), a large amount of stained glass windows that were flown in from Paris and install by some big time artist the family commissioned.  In fact, all of the materials for the mansion were brought in from France.  Cray, huh?

17

A few quick facts about Palacio Paz:

It took 12 years to build.

The owner died before it was completed so he never got to see it.

The mansion was built for a family of 9.

Each family member had their own servant.

This mansion required a staff of 60 to tend to the family’s every need and daily upkeep/running of the home.

A little more info here if you’d like to learn more.

Talk about rich!?? Sheesh!

 

*** These photos are copyrighted as I am a professional photographer.  Please feel free to use them for non commercial purposes and please include me for source information.  Thanks.

 

2 thoughts on “Argentina Pt. 3 – Buenos Aires

Leave a Reply

